Eighth Schedule language for UPSC: All Required Details-Check Here

Polity is an important subject in UPSC IAS Examination.

All the more so taking the exam also the subject polity has an excessive meaning in the life of administrators.

At this point, we are giving the details of Languages in the Eighth Schedule.

The Constitutional provisions relating to the 8th Schedule are in articles 344(1) and 351 of the Indian Constitution.

Article 344- Committee and Commission of Parliament on official language 

Article 344(1) offers the establishment of a Commission by the President at the end of 5 years from the beginning of the Constitution and later at the ending of 10 years from such origination.

It must include a Chairman and other associates corresponding to the numerous languages quantified in the 8th Schedule to make advice to the President for the vigorous use of Hindi for authorized principles of the Government of India.

Article 351 

The duty of the Union to inspire the allotment of the Hindi language to expand it with the purpose of it serving as an intermediate of message for all the mechanisms of the compound philosophy of India and to protect its improvement by assimilating without getting in the way of prodigy, quality and languages used in Hindustani and in the other languages of India stated in the 8th Schedule, and by sketch, for its language, mostly, on Sanskrit and secondarily on other languages.

Year of recognition Language Spoken in
1950 Assamese Assam
1950 Bengali West Bengal
1950 Gujarati Gujarat
1950 Hindi North Indian States
1950 Kashmiri Jammu and Kashmir
1950 Kannada Karnataka
1950 Malayalam Kerala
1950 Marathi Maharashtra
1950 Odia Odisha
1950 Punjabi Punjab


1950 Sanskrit
1950 Tamil Tamilnadu


1950 Telugu Andhra Pradesh


1950 Urdu Northern India
1967 Sindhi Dispersed in Gujarat



1992 Konkani Goa

Parts of Karnataka

1992 Manipuri Manipur
1992 Nepali Sikkim

Parts of West Bengal

2003 Bodo West Bengal


2003 Dogri Himachal Pradesh

Jammu and Kashmir

2003 Maithili Parts of Bihar
2003 Santhali Spoken by Santhal tribe in Jharkhand, West Bengal  and Bihar