Full Form Of UPSC

UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission.

The Union Public Service Commission is the legal and unifying figure which facilitates the selection of aspirants in a numerous post by means of difficult/severe procedures of examination.

The directing organization of the IAS and IPS is none other than the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate change is intended for IFS.

The selection is done through Civil Service Examination which is held in three rounds- Preliminary Examination, Mains Examination and Personally Test.

The UPSC is supposed to be amongst the hardest exams across India.

The UPSC organizes the Civil Services, Engineering Services, CDS, NDA, SCRA Exam, IFS Exam and many more to be listed.

UPSC Eligibility Criteria 

The eligibility criteria are different for every exam. Qualifying the 12th exam, aspirants will require registering for the UPSC exam.
1. For Services Examination– Entrants who genuinely intent on becoming IPS, then this exam is designed for them. All those graduates can get through this exam. It is conducted in two rounds. Entrants will need to clear the Preliminary exam to be considered for the main exam. There is a specific age requirement set for this, aspirants who want to apply for the exam must be from 21 to 30 years.
2. For NDA Examination- Aspirants who have cleared their 12th exam will be considered for this exam. Besides, the age is varying from 16.5 to 19 years. Be certain that you don’t acquire the age above 19 years while training.

3. For SCRA Examination– Aspirants who have cleared their 12th with the Mathematics. Also, they must be doing their 12th with Physic /Chemistry.
The age criteria are from 17 to 21 years. Those pursuing graduation will also be taken into account.
4. For CDS Examination–  For the enrolment in CDS, graduation is prerequisite.

  1. For Indian Military Academy and OTA– Aspirants will need to do graduation in any subject at famous university.

Following specifics are mandatory to be considered- 

The eligible students will have to fill in the application form referring to important details from the website of UPSC. It will also be attainable from the post office located in India.

The patterns of UPSC Examination- 

 Stage 1-  Preliminary Examination(CSAT)

In the Preliminary exams, there will be the assortment of two papers- paper 1 and paper 2.
In paper 1, aspirants will get asked questions on General Studies and paper 2 will encompass the Aptitude.

Aspirants who meet the requirements of paper 1 will be eligible for Mains Examination while paper 2 is held foe examining the aspirants. The paper 2 marks will not be considered for Civil Services Preliminary Examination.

Paper 1 (General Studies) 

200 Marks

Duration- Two Hours

Number of Questions- 100

Number of Questions: 100

Paper 11 (Aptitude)

200 Marks

Duration- Two Hours

Number of Questions- 80

Stage 2- Main Examination (Mains) 

The main exam will be comprised of written examination. The written exam will be designed for 9 papers of the straight essay.

Stage 3- Personal Interview 

Entrants who acquire minimum marks in the Main Examination set by Commissioner as per decision will be called for an interview in a Personality Test.

Step 2- Exam Syllabus

Paper 1- General Studies 

  • Current Affairs: Events of national and international importance
  • History of India and Indian National Movement
  • Indian and World Geography-Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change (no subject specialization required)
  • General Science

Paper 2 Syllabus 

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision making and problem-solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data Interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. – Class X level)
  • English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).
  • Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level. (will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation)

Distribution of Units 

After clearing the exam, aspirants will be distributed into units with each state consists of three groups- Manipur, Tripura, Assam-Meghalaya, and Arunachal Pradesh- Goa-Mizoram-Union Territories exclusive of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.