UPSC Assamese Literature Syllabus 2019 – Get Syllabus Here

This is up to date UPSC Assamese Literature Syllabus. This is part of Main Exam of Civil service which is conducted by UPSC.

UPSC Assamese Literature Syllabus Paper-I

 (Answers must be written in Assamese)



(a) History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan Languages-periods in its history.

(b) Developments of Assamese prose.

(c) Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.

(d) Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

(e) Morphology of the language-conjugation- enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes.

(f) Dialectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

(g) Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.


Literary Criticism and Literary History

(a) Principles of Literary criticism up to New criticism.

(b) Different literary genres.

(c) Development of literary forms in Assamese.

(d) Development of literary criticism in Assamese.

(e) Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings,

i.e. from the period of the charyyageets with their socio-cultural background: the proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva-

Sankaradeva-post Sankaradeva- Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the Gonski and the post-Independence period.

UPSC Assamese Literature Syllabus Paper-II

This paper will require first-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the candidates’ critical ability. Answers must be written in Assamese


  1. Ramayana (Ayodhya Kãnda only)-by Madhava Kandali.
  2. Pãrijãt-Harana-by Sankaradeva.
  3. Rãsakrïdã-by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).
  4. Bargeet-by Madhavadeva
  5. Rãjasûya-by Madhavadeva.
  6. Kãthã-Bhãgavata (Books I and II)-by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.
  7. Gurucarit-Kathã (Sankaradeva’s Part only)-ed. by Maheswar Neog.


  • Mor Jeevan Soñwaran-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  • Kripãbar Barbaruãr Kãkatar Topola-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  • Pratimã-by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.
  • Gãoñburhã-by Padmanath Gohain Barua.
  • Monamatî-by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.
  • Purani Asamîyã Sãhitya-by Banikanta
  • Karengar Ligirî-by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla
  • Jeevanar Bãtat-by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)
  • Mrityunjoy-by Birendrakumar
  • Bhattachary-ya
  • Samrãt-by Navakanta Barua.

Sandeep Kumar

Hi Guys, I am Sandeep Co-founder of IASpaper and UPSCToday Staying in Mumbai (India) and pursuing graduation in Computer Science and Engineering from Mumbai University. I love helping Aspirants. You may join me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *