UPSC DOGRI Literature Syllabus 2019 – Get Syllabus Here

This is up to date UPSC DOGRI Bengali Literature Syllabus. This is part of Main Exam of Civil service which is conducted by UPSC.

UPSC DOGRI Literature Syllabus Paper-I 

History of Dogri Language and Literature

(Answers must be written in Dogri)


History of Dogri Language

1. Dogri language : Origin and development through different stages.

2. Linguistic boundaries of Dogri and its dialects.

3. Characteristic features of Dogri language.

4. Structure of Dogri Language :

(a) Sound Structure : Segmental : Vowels and Consonants Non-Segmental : Length, Stress, Nasalization, Tone and Juncture.

(b) Morphology of Dogri :

(i) Inflection Categories : Gender, Number, Case, Person, Tense and Voice.

(ii) Word Formation : use of prefixes, infixes and suffixes.

(iii) Vocabulary : Tatsam, tadbhav, foreign and regional.

(c) Sentence Structure: Major Sentence – types and their constituents, agreement, and Concord in Dogri syntax.

5. Dogri Language and Scripts : Dogre/Dogra Akkhar, Devanagari and Persian.


History of Dogri Literature :

1. A brief account of Pre-independence Dogri Literature: Poetry & Prose.

2. Development of modern Dogri Poetry and main trends in Dogri Poetry.

3. Development of Dogri short-story, main trends & prominent short-story writers.

4. Development of Dogri Novel, main trends & contribution of Dogri Novelists.

5. Development of Dogri Drama & contribution of prominent Playwrights.

6. Development of Dogri Prose: Essays, Memoirs & Travelogues.

7. An introduction to Dogri Folk literature – Folk songs, Folktales & Ballads.

UPSC DOGRI Literature Syllabus Paper-II 

Textual Criticism of Dogri Literature

(Answers must be written in Dogri)



1. Azadi Paihle Di Dogri Kavita. The following poets: Devi Ditta, Lakkhu, Ganga Ram, Ramdhan, Hardutt, Pahari Gandhi
Baba Kanshi Ram & Permanand Almost.
2. Modern Dogri Poetry Azadi Bad Di Dogri Kavita
The following poets: Kishan Smailpuri, Tara Smailpuri, Mohan Lal Sapolia, Yash Sharma, K.S. Madhukar, Padma Sachdev,
Jitendra Udhampuri, Charan Singh, and Prakash Premi.

3. Sheeraza Dogri Number 102, Ghazal Ank.
The following poets: Ram Lal Sharma, Ved Pal Deep, N.D. Jamwal, Shiv Ram Deep, Ashwini Magotra and Virendra Kesar.
Sheeraza Dogri Number 147, Ghazal Ank
The following poets: R.N. Shastri, Jitendra Udhampuri, Champa Sharma and Darshan Darshi.

5. Ramayan (Epic) by Shambhu Nath Sharma (up to Ayodhya Kand)

6. Veer Gulab (Khand Kavya) by Dinoo Bhai Pant.



1. Ajakani Dogri Kahani
The following short story writers: Madan Mohan Sharma, Narendra Khajuria, and B.P. Sathe.

2. Ajakani Dogri Kahani Part-II
The following Short Story writers: Ved Rahi, Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Om Goswami, Chhattrapal, Lalit Magotra, Chaman Arora and Ratan Kesar.

3. Khatha Kunj Bhag II
The following Story writers: Om Vidyarthi, Champa Sharma, and Krishan Sharma

4. Meel Patthar (collection of short stories) by Bandhu Sharma

5. Kaiddi (Novel) by Desh Bandhu Dogra Nutan

6. Nanga Rukh (Novel) by O.P. Sharma Sarathi.

7. Nayana (Drama) by Mohan Singh.

8. Satrang (A collection of one-act plays)

The following pay wrights: Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Ram Nath Shastri, Jitendra Sharma, Lalit Magotra and Madan Mohan

9. Dogri Lalit Nibandh
The following authors: Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Narayan Mishra, Balkrishan Shastri, Shiv Nath, Shyam Lal Sharma, Lakshmi
Narayan, D.C. Prashant, Ved Ghai, Kunwar Viyogi.

Sandeep Kumar

Hi Guys, I am Sandeep Co-founder of IASpaper and UPSCToday Staying in Mumbai (India) and pursuing graduation in Computer Science and Engineering from Mumbai University. I love helping Aspirants. You may join me on Facebook

One thought on “UPSC DOGRI Literature Syllabus 2019 – Get Syllabus Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *