UPSC Full Form : What Is The Full Form Of UPSC

UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission.

The Civil Services of India terms for Government of India’s permanent administration and contains Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Forest Service (IFS) and many other services which create a base for India’s administrative machinery.

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), which is a constitutional figure go for staffing of contenders for the various posts through a difficult examination process.

Eligibility Criteria Nationality: 

Applicant should be the native of India.

Educational Qualification: 

Contender opting for civil service exams is mandatory to accomplish the following criteria:

  1. They should have a Bachelor’s Degree from any of the established universities.
  2. Entrants who have taken part in the qualifying examination and are looking for results or those who have not yet taken part in the qualifying examination will be considered for the Preliminary Examination.
  3. Applicants who bear professional and technical qualifications issued by the Government or corresponding degree are also taken in to account for the exams.
  4. Applicants who have cleared the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but have not finished their internship will be applying for the Main Examination. But, they will need to get the certificate from the University that they have conceded the final professional medical examination.

Age Limit:

A contender must acquire minimum 21 years and maximum 32 years on August 1.

The maximum age limit arranged above is applicable to the following entrants:

  • 5 years – Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST)
  • 3 years – Other Backward Classes (OBC)
  • 5 years – if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January 1980 to the 31st December 1989.
  • 3 years – Defence Services personnel
  • 5 years – ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on 1st August.
  • 5 years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs
  • 10 years – Blind, deaf-mute, and orthopedically handicapped persons

The number of attempts 

Limits the maximum number of attempts -:

  • For General Candidates: 6 attempts.
  • Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST): No Limits.
  • Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts.

Exam pattern: 

Civil Service Examination Pattern 

The pattern of Civil services examination has been intended to assess the academic know-how of a contender and that contender’s ability to present comprehensible manner.

The examination pattern aims to evaluate the complete knowledgeable traits and understanding level of the entrants.

The UPSC Civil Services Exam is directed in two stages specifically, Prelims and Mains, which are followed by an interview.

System and subjects for the Preliminary and Main Examinations are as follows:

  • Preliminary Examination (400 Marks) is the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) and is a common test for all candidates
  • The Prelims contains two papers of 200 marks each
    • Both the question papers contain the objective type of two hours each.
    • The question papers will be established in both Hindi and English. But, questions connected to English Language Comprehension skills will be provided only in English. Sightless contenders would be permitted an additional 20 minutes for each paper.
    • Main Examination (2075 Marks) – Applicants who succeed in the Preliminary exam are named for the Main exam and based on which marks are available in the Main exam will be termed for Interview.
    • The total marks of Main exam and Interview summarize the final result. The written examination covers the following papers:

Qualifying Papers 

  • Paper I (Marks 300)- Indian Languages to be designated by the contenders from the Languages involved in the eighth list of the constitution.
  • Paper II (Marks 300) – English Paper to be calculated for merits including Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management.